Tipperary County Museum has a collection of approx 25,000 items. Not all items can be on display at all times but we aim to exhibit as wide a variety of our collection as possible. Our permanent gallery displays some of the highlights of our collection including many rare objects such as a sample of our Art collection, Maurice Davin's (G.A.A.'s first President) Rowing Boat 'An Crúiscín', the beautifully embellished Sisters of Charity Tabernacle, Mick Hogan's Jersey (Bloody Sunday 1920), Block wheel cart, Dr. Pat O’ Callaghan Scrapbook, Mick Delahunty's saxophone, Ireland's first Olympic Medal, won in St. Louis, USA by T.F. Kiely in 1904, Frank Patterson material, Archaeology on loan from the National Museum of Ireland and much more.
The Museum is dedicated to preserving and collecting the material history of County Tipperary. The collection is interpreted through exhibitions and historical displays throughout the year. Our award winning educational workshops, themed camps, lecture series, community programmes and talks create an interactive experience for all our visitors