# Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Carrick-on-Suir Municipal District held at the District Chamber, Carrick on Suir convened on Saturday 18 June 2022 at 4:00pm

*In the Chair:* Cllr. D. Dunne

Members

**Present:** Cllr. Kieran Bourke, Cllr. K. O'Meara.

Former

Councillors Margaret Croke, Sarah Dunne, Tony Kehoe, Denis Landy,

**Present:** Patsy Murphy, Liam Walsh.

Apologies:

Former Cllr. M. Fitzgerald, Cllr. I. Goldsboro.

Councillors: John Dowley, Liam Dwyer, Patsy Fitzgerald, Richard O'Neill,

Sylvia Cooney-Sheehan, David Shee, Noel Torpey, Josie

Waters

In Attendance: Ms. Marie O'Gorman, District Administrator

### Welcome and introduction

#### 1.1

Summons and Prayer:

The summons was taken as read.

The Cathaoirleach welcomed all and thanked them for their attendance on the sad occasion of the death of former Councillor Jim Drohan on Wednesday 15 June 2022.

It was fitting to pay tribute to Mr. Drohan who had served with Carrick on Suir Town Council for 10 years from 1999 until 2009, having chaired the Council in 2001 and had left a fine legacy in the world of work, sport and local politics. The Cathaoirleach called for a vote of sympathy to Mr. Drohan's wife and family and to their extended family and wide circle of friends.

# Vote of Sympathy

#### 2.1.

Vote of
Sympathy to
Drohan Family,
Carrick on Suir
on the death of
Jim Drohan.

A vote of sympathy to the family and loved ones bereaved by the death of former Councillor Jim Drohan, was proposed by Councillor K. Bourke.

In speaking to his motion, Councillor Bourke recalled a good friend for whom he had the utmost respect and spoke of his time working alongside Jim on the Carrick on Suir Housing Development Association and later in his contracting business when Jim worked for him on payroll. He spoke of a dedicated public representative following in the footsteps of his father, the

# Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Carrick-on-Suir Municipal District held in the District Chamber, New Street, Carrick on Suir at 2:00pm on the 16 June 2022

In the Chair: C

Cllr. Mark Fitzgerald

Members present.

Cllr. K. Bourke, Cllr. D. Dunne, Cllr. I. Goldsboro, Cllr. K. O'Meara

Apologies.

In attendance:

Mr. Brian Beck, A/Director of Services: Ms. Marie O'Gorman, District Administrator: Mr. Willie Corby, District Engineer: Ms. Máiréad Winters, Assistant Staff Officer: Ms. Emma Creighton, Assistant

Staff Officer:

**Guests:** 

Mr. Martin Browne, T.D.: Mrs. Helen Browne: Mr. Maurice Cagney: Mrs. Joan Dunne; Mr. Noel Dunne; Mr. Aindrías Ó Fogartaigh:

Mr. Marcus Ó Fogartaigh: Ms. Caroline Hannigan:

Miss Leah Hannigan: Mr. Terry Hunt: Mr. Dean McGrath: Mr. Barra Ó Réagáin: Mr. Liam Walsh: Ms. Susan Walsh:

(Baby) Carter Walsh:

#### **Welcome and Introduction**

Item 1.1.

**Summons and** 

Prayer.

The summons was taken as read.

#### **Election of Cathaoirleach:**

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Mark Fitzgerald welcomed colleagues, staff members and guests to the 2022 Annual Meeting and recalled the events and challenges of the past year against the most unusual background of the lockdown and the prevailing pandemic. Notwithstanding those challenges, he stated that he thoroughly enjoyed fulfilling the role and he derived immense pride in the honour bestowed upon him.

He considered that the Carrick on Suir Municipal District was particularly lucky in how it pulled together to get on with its work and he paid tribute to his elected colleagues and the management and staff whose focus was on delivery of first-rate services to the citizens of the District.

He spoke of the wonderful achievements during his tenure, with very significant projects brought to planning and design stage - the Carrick on Suir Regeneration Plan, River Suir Blueway connection to the Waterford Greenway were cases in point - that would stand in good stead for the area for generations to come. Closer to home, he looked forward to the development of the Carrigmaclear amenity and he was particularly proud to have hosted the Tidy Towns Awards in

Councillor Dunne then took the chair. He thanked all present for their well wishes and spoke eloquently and at length of the honour he was happy to receive. He thanked his mentors -past and present - and his family for their support and unwavering trust and looked forward to wearing the chain of office with pride. He stated that he would work hard for all and do his best to promote the interests of the towns and villages in the wider District.

## **Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach:**

#### Item 2.2.

# Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach-elect called for nominee(s) for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach for Carrick on Suir Municipal District for 2022-2023.

Cllr. I. Goldsboro nominated Cllr. K. Bourke for the role of Leas-Chathaoirleach. This was seconded by Cllr. K. O'Meara.

There being no further nominations, the Cathaoirleach-elect deemed Cllr. K. Bourke to be elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach of Carrick on Suir Municipal District for 2022-2023.

Cllr. K. Bourke thanked his proposer and seconder and expressed his delight to accept the position, while looking forward to working with the Cathaoirleach and supporting him in his role.

# **Agree Schedule of Meetings for 2022-2023**

### Item 3.1.

# Agree Schedule of Meetings for 2022-2023:

The District Administrator circulated a draft schedule of monthly meetings for the forthcoming 2022-2023 (penultimate) term for consideration and adoption by the Members.

It was proposed by Cllr. K. Bourke seconded by Cllr. M. Fitzgerald and unanimously agreed that monthly meetings would take place on the following dates;

Monthly meeting Thursday 28 July 2022 at 2:00pm.

Monthly meeting Thursday 22 September 2022 at 2:00pm.

Annual Budget meeting, Thursday 27 October 2022 at 2:00pm.

Monthly meeting, Thursday 24 November 2022 at 2:00pm.

Monthly meeting, Thursday 15 December 2022 at 2:00pm.