Silouette graphic representing Tipperary

Local Election Candidates 2024

Press Release
Governance and Administration
10 April 2024

An election of members for each of the eight (8) local electoral areas of the above-mentioned local authority is about to be held.

  • Cahir 
  • Carrick-on-Suir
  • Cashel-Tipperary
  • Clonmel
  • Nenagh
  • Newport
  • Roscrea-Templemore
  • Thurles

Nomination papers may be obtained from the Customer Service desks in Clonmel or Nenagh or any of the Municipal Districts offices in Carrick-on-Suir, Tipperary, or Thurles during the usual office hours or by contacting Corporate Services Section, Civic Offices, Clonmel at 0818 06 5000.

A person may nominate himself/herself as a candidate or may, with his/her consent, be nominated by a proposer who is registered as a local government elector in the local electoral area for which he/she proposes to nominate the candidate. 

A nomination paper from a candidate of a registered political party must have a certificate of political affiliation attached which must be produced to me with his/her completed nomination paper. 

If no certificate is attached, the candidate must, before the latest time for receiving nominations, either- 

  • Secure 15 assents to the nomination by way of statutory declarations by local government electors registered in the relevant local electoral area (forms available from Customer Service desks in Clonmel or Nenagh or any of the Municipal Districts offices in Carrick-on-Suir, Tipperary or Thurles), or 
  • Make a deposit of €100 (deposit may also be made on the candidate’s behalf). 

The latest time for receiving nominations is noon on Saturday the 18th of May, 2024.

Completed nomination papers may be delivered to me in person by appointment by the candidate or his/her proposer at any time when I am at my office, during the period from 10am on Saturday 11th May 2024 until 12 noon on the last day for receiving nominations, Saturday 18th May 2024

I am required by law to attend to receive nominations between 10 am and 12 noon and between 2 pm and 5 pm on Friday the 17th of May 2024 and between 10 am and 12 noon on Saturday the 18th of May 2024.

If the election is contested, a poll will be taken on Friday the 7th June 2024 between the hours of 7 am and 10 pm.

Ger Walsh

Local Returning Officer