Silouette graphic representing Tipperary

Walled Towns

The Irish Walled Town Network (IWTN) was established by the Heritage Council in 2005 to unite and co-ordinate the strategic efforts of Local Authorities involved in the management and conservation of historic walled towns in Ireland. There are currently 28 walled towns and villages in the group. Members of the network can apply to the annual grants scheme for funding for capital works and festivals and events promoting the walls. Training and advice on best practice is also available from the network. More information on the Network and the Towns is available on

Tipperary has 4 towns currently in this network

  • Carrick on Suir
  • Cashel
  • Clonmel
  • Fethard